Menu Therapy Cooking Tip: How to Peel a Kiwi Easily

Kiwi Slices

I’m about to blow your mind with one of the greatest tricks I learned in cooking school. It came during my two weeks learning Baking and Pastry, a class that seriously scared me to death and had me in cold sweats. Baking is suuuuper tricky. For my final exam I watched in horror as my Charlotte slowly but surely turned into the Leaning Tower of Mousse and Ladyfingers, and nearly burned my eyebrows off peering`into the oven to see if my soufflé was planning on rising sometime this year. STRESSFUL. Classes like Baking a Pastry are surely why “desserts” spelled backwards is s-t-r-e-s-s-e-d. Holy cow.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand…the best and most practical trick EVER came from that same class and it changed my life. Seriously I was so pumped. I think my chef instructor was slightly annoyed at how excited this simple trick made me as it is certainly not a classic technique. However, it is easy and awesome and makes my day to day cooking easier and…awesomer?

So if you’re like me and have ever found yourself frustrated at the simple task of taking the furry, prickly, nasty little brown skin off of a kiwi, this video is for you!

Happy Peeling!

Leave a comment