5 Things to Eat Before Summer is REALLY Gone With the Wind

 

 

heirloomtomatoes

 

Cold Soup- Keep your house cool on a hot summer day and whip up a no-cook gazpacho. Tomatoes, bell peppers and cucumbers are at their peak this time of year so there’s no better time to eat them in their “raw’ form. Did I mention the health benefits are even greater before all of the nutrients have been cooked out? I’d love to include a gazpacho on the weekly meal plan but knowing what men like my husband and dad would say, I haven’t gotten that brave yet. Check out Ree Drummond’s Gazpacho recipe for one of the best I’ve tasted…and guess what guys, she tops it with shrimp!

Squash Blossoms- These vibrant, orange blossoms most often from a zucchini plant can be found at farmer’s markets around the country during summer. Stuff them with a creamy herbed cheese mixture and lightly fry them up, or thinly slice and sprinkle over a pasta dish. You can’t go wrong. Check out this source for more squash blossom inspiration.

Peaches- Peaches are at their absolute best for a few more weeks. Juicy and sweet- it’s time to take advantage of them. You could toss them in a cobbler, but let’s be honest, couldn’t you do that with frozen peaches just as easily? My suggestion is good old fashioned Peaches and Cream. Slice them up and pour in half and half, or if you dare- heavy cream! Peachy, creamy heaven in a bowl.

Heirloom Tomatoes- Look for heirlooms with their funky shapes and wide spectrum of colors. So ugly they’re cute, as a general rule heirloom tomatoes come from a seed that is at least 50 years old. When preparing an heirloom tomato keep in mind that less is more. Of course you can sauté it up in a pasta dish or roast some to intensify their already perfectly sweet flavor, but I think the nicest thing you can do is just leave them alone. Drizzle chopped heirlooms with good quality extra-virgin olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Simple salad perfection. Check out the entries and winners from Food52’s Heirloom Tomato Recipe Contest for more ideas.

Dessert in a Mason Jar- This was totally my Labor Day game plan. I was in charge of the dessert portion of our weekend potluck so I thought that Banana Pudding served up in a mason jar would be the perfect salute to summer’s farewell. Well, it would have been had I not completely misplaced my mason jars! They must have grown legs and hitch-hiked back to the South because I can’t find them anywhere. The banana pudding was delish, but I just know it would have tasted even better layered into a mason jar! Need more mason jar inspiration? Check out this cute blog with all sorts of tips and tricks.

2 responses to “5 Things to Eat Before Summer is REALLY Gone With the Wind

  1. I sure will be missing the peaches!! And I agree. Anything in a mason jar somehow tastes better

Leave a comment