Sweet, Sweet Summer

Summer Sauté Close Up

I can’t believe summer is almost behind us! How can that be? It seems like only a few short days ago I was excited about the arrival of spring and now it’s late August. Too fast! If you’re like us summer is a very busy time of year. Maybe it’s because we happen to live in a pretty fabulous destination spot and play host to family and friends during their annual vacations…which we LOVE doing…or maybe it’s because my husband and I both also see summer as the official countdown to college football season. Either way it’s here today and gone tomorrow like no other season. Luckily, we have a few more weeks to go; weeks in which I will make every possible trip to the Laguna Beach Farmer’s Market I can, and grab all of my favorite summertime fruits and veggies as long as they’re available. My checklist of ingredients that I’ve yet to cook with this season is pretty long, but the good news is I’m back in the kitchen every night as usual so I have plenty of time to get cracking on them. First up next week- squash blossoms! Those little suckers will be stuffed with cheese and fried in a white wine batter as soon as I get my hands on them this weekend. Post to follow!

Last night I stumbled upon a very seasonal, very tasty, and very easy side dish. I’m so excited about this dish that I can’t wait to make it a part of the meal plan for our subscribers next week. If you’ve ever imagined what summer on a plate would taste like, this is it! Zucchini, sweet yellow corn and juicy cherry tomatoes tossed with thyme, oregano, basil, and parmesan cheese, all rounded out with a squeeze of lime juice. It’s hearty yet light, and the bright zing from the lime juice elevates the flavor above your average vegetable sauté or ratatouille. It’s everything a summer side dish should be- fun, bright, colorful, healthful and zippy! 🙂 I love it and can’t wait for you try it. Let me know what you think!

Summer Sauté in Pan

Ingredients:

1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
3 large zucchini, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 lime, juiced
1/4 cup  grated Parmesan

  1. Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, being careful not to burn.
  2. Add the zucchini and corn and sauté for 1 minute. Add in salt, pepper, basil, oregano and thyme. Continue to cook for 2 minutes more.
  3. Add in cherry tomatoes and lime juice and cook for just another minute more or until tomatoes just begin to burst.
  4. Toss in parmesan cheese and stir to coat. Serve.

For more delicious recipes, weekly meal planning and grocery lists, become a Menu Therapy subscriber.

sign_up_button

3 responses to “Sweet, Sweet Summer

  1. Robin

    Can’t wait to try it! Looks delicious!

  2. Feeling exactly the same about summer! It’s just whizzed by! Absolutely love your dish – the colours are fantastic. If you have a minute, I’d love your thoughts on my leftovers summer inspired dish – as your post reminded me of it! 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/08/30/leftovers-hullabaloo/

Leave a comment